"Vierschanzen Tournee" Skijumping Tip by Nykaenen

Skijumping, Innsbruck: 12 reviews and 18 photos

  Innsbruck competition in 2004
by Nykaenen

Vierschanzen Tournee (Four Hills) is the second best-known ski jumping competition after the Winter Olympics. It was created in 1953 and has since been taking place every year.
As the name suggests, Four Hills are made up of 4 individual competitions - Oberstdorf (29.12.), Garmisch-Partenkirchen (1.1.), Innsbruck (4.1.) & Bischofshofen (6.1.). The first two belong to Germany, the last two to Austria.

Jumpers earn points in two ways; first, for each hill they earn points that count toward the overall standing in the World Cup (1st place- 100, 2nd - 80, 3rd - 60, etc.); second, their actual points at each competition are put together to get the overall winner of the Tournee. Winners get prize money for each hill separately as well as for the overall title. Prize money for the overall title has increased considerably in the last decade and added even more prestige to the Tournee!

Several jumpers succeeded in winning 3 of the 4 hills, but it was only in 2001/2 that one man managed to capture all 4 of them - Sven Hannavald of Germany. In doing so, he made history and earned himself German athlete of the year award. That says it all about the importance and popularity of the Four Hills.

Address: Bergisel stadium
Theme: Sports Watching

Review Helpfulness: 3.5 out of 5 stars

Was this review helpful?

  • Updated Apr 4, 2011
  • Send to a Friend
  • Add to your Trip Planner
  • Report Abuse



“I'd rather laugh with the sinners than cry with the saints.”

Online Now


Top 1,000 Travel Writer
Member Rank:
0 0 9 4 3

Have you been to Innsbruck?

  Share Your Travels