VirtualTourist.com will close on Feb 27th.

Please save any personal content and exchange contact info with other members you?d like to stay in touch with. Thank you for your contributions to the VirtualTourist community.

Whalers on the point hostel/guesthouse in Tofino: "Most unfriendly hostel" Tofino Hotel Tip by kben

Tofino Hotels: 25 reviews and 33 photos

(+) Nice views (but most places in town have nice views)
(+) own kitchen
(+) parking available (yet always crowded)- my car was stuck behind 3 other cars

(-) Worst customer service I ever experienced; if you have any problem that will require a change (and I am not talking about a cancellation but a change of dates) in your reservation, there will be no-one you can talk to and you will be charged no matter what- this is a backpacker mill, quantity matters over quality.
(-) cleanliness is to be desired, our bed has sand in it.
(-) Very loud- a bit like a frathouse
(-) Staff professionalism is also low. The staff was non-knowledgeable, exhausted and not able to respond- it gave us contradictory answers regarding what we needed to do and even yelled at us. We had to email and wait for 4 days to get a response from the manager!

Conclusion: if you have a problem this hostel will not care. There are other hostels, hotels, guesthouses in town with similar prices, you can certainly do better and be treated right

Unique Qualities: Great views
Common kitchen
Some parking available
Shared dorms and private rooms

Address: tofino, bc
Price Comparison: least expensive
Directions: Tofino
Price: US$40-80
Theme: Hostel

Was this review helpful?

  • Written Oct 20, 2011
  • Send to a Friend
  • Add to your Trip Planner
  • Report Abuse

Comments

This member has not been ranked.
No VT rank yet.
         

Have you been to Tofino?

  Share Your Travels