Whalers on the point hostel/guesthouse in Tofino: "Most unfriendly hostel" Tofino Hotel Tip by kben

Tofino Hotels: 25 reviews and 33 photos

(+) Nice views (but most places in town have nice views)
(+) own kitchen
(+) parking available (yet always crowded)- my car was stuck behind 3 other cars

(-) Worst customer service I ever experienced; if you have any problem that will require a change (and I am not talking about a cancellation but a change of dates) in your reservation, there will be no-one you can talk to and you will be charged no matter what- this is a backpacker mill, quantity matters over quality.
(-) cleanliness is to be desired, our bed has sand in it.
(-) Very loud- a bit like a frathouse
(-) Staff professionalism is also low. The staff was non-knowledgeable, exhausted and not able to respond- it gave us contradictory answers regarding what we needed to do and even yelled at us. We had to email and wait for 4 days to get a response from the manager!

Conclusion: if you have a problem this hostel will not care. There are other hostels, hotels, guesthouses in town with similar prices, you can certainly do better and be treated right

Unique Qualities: Great views
Common kitchen
Some parking available
Shared dorms and private rooms

Address: tofino, bc
Price Comparison: least expensive
Directions: Tofino
Price: US$40-80
Theme: Hostel

Was this review helpful?

  • Written Oct 20, 2011
  • Send to a Friend
  • Add to your Trip Planner
  • Report Abuse

Comments

This member has not been ranked.
No VT rank yet.
         

Have you been to Tofino?

  Share Your Travels