will close on Feb 27th.

Please save any personal content and exchange contact info with other members you?d like to stay in touch with. Thank you for your contributions to the VirtualTourist community.

"Schools of Tibetan Buddhism - Overview" Tibet Local Custom Tip by Maria81

Tibet Local Customs: 111 reviews and 171 photos

  Sakya Monastery - of the Sakyapa Order
by Maria81

There are 4 main schools of Tibetan Buddhism:

- Nyingma: the oldest of the four schools, based on the Buddhist scriptures translated from Sanscrit into Tibetan (the process which has also led to the creation of the Tibetan script)

- Karma Kagyu: headed by the Karmapas, who over the centuries have been the spiritual advisors to the Chinese emperors. The Karmapa is also known as the 'Black Hat' Lama

- Sakya: the Sakya monastery abbot is the head of the order. Unlike the Dalai and the Panchen Lamas, the Sakya abbot title is hereditary.

- Gelugpa: with the abbot of Drepung as the titular head. However, it is the Dalai Lama, also of the Gelugpa order, who wields the strongest influence over the order and Tibetan Buddhism in general. The Panchen Lama is also of the Gelugpa order.

Since the 20th century the traditional religion of Tibet, Bön, has been adopted as the fifth school of Tibetan Buddhism.

Review Helpfulness: 2.5 out of 5 stars

Was this review helpful?

  • Written Sep 30, 2011
  • Send to a Friend
  • Add to your Trip Planner
  • Report Abuse



“"Learn the rules so you know how to break them properly." - the Dalai Lama”

Online Now


Top 5,000 Travel Writer
Member Rank:
0 1 4 4 6
Forum Rank:
0 2 5 4 8

Have you been to Tibet?

  Share Your Travels