"Westminster Palace" Houses of Parliament - Palace of Westminster Tip by viddra

by viddra
  • parliament - London
    by viddra
  • Westminster Palace - London
  • Westminster Palace - London
  • Westminster Palace - London
  • Westminster Palace - London

The Houses of Parliament, officially called the New Palace of Westminster, is the seat of the British Parliament.

Parliament consists of the House of Lords, whose members sit there by their right or birth, and the House of Commons, where the elected members of Parliament sit.

The buildings on the east bank of the Thames River were built (1840-1860) after plans by Sir Charles Barry, on the site of the medieval royal residence. Westminster Hall (1097) is all that remains of the original palace.

The buildings cover an area of more than 3 hectares and contain 1100 apartments, 100 staircases and 11 courts.

The exterior is impressive with its three massive towers: Victoria Tower (102m), Middle Tower (91m) and Saint Stephen?s, or the Clock Tower (98m). When Parliament is in session, the light burns in the Clock Tower, or by day, a flag flies from Victoria Tower.

Address: Parliament Square, SW1
Directions: Westminster tube
Phone: +44 20 7219 3000
Website: http://www.parliament.uk

Review Helpfulness: 4 out of 5 stars

Was this review helpful?

  • Written Feb 22, 2007
  • Send to a Friend
  • Add to your Trip Planner
  • Report Abuse



“Treasure memories not money”

Online Now


Top 1,000 Travel Writer
Member Rank:
0 0 2 2 6

Have you been to London?

  Share Your Travels