"Visit Sedemte Prestola Monastery" Lakatnik Things to Do Tip by Childish
Lakatnik Things to Do: 2 reviews and 6 photos
The name means 'The Seven Oltars'. The monastery is interesting mainly because of the unique architecture of the church. The church consists of 7 oltars where the name of the monastery comes from.
The exact origin of the monastery is not dated. According to one of the versions the monastery (or to be precise) the church was build at the time of Peter Delyan - 11th century. Acording to a legend for the establishment of the monastery it was build by 7 boyars/brothers who come from Bessarabia and made settlements in the 7 villages near the monastery - Osenovlak, Ogoya, Ogradishte, Bukovets, Leskov Dol, Zhelen and Lakatnik.
It is assumed that the monastery was destroyed when Bulgaria fell under the Ottoman rule. Later it was renovated. The monastery was mentioned in writing for the first time in the 16th century. It was burnt out in 1735 following an order of the Turkish Sultan Mahmud and then restored after 1769 when Bulgarians got the right again to build their churches. In 1848 there was a school established in the monastery.
In 1896 the monastery was visited by Sofronij Vrachanski. It was his idea to build a bell from the iron from the Roman fortress near the monastery.
In 1892 the monastery was visited by one of the biggest Bulgarian writers - Ivan Vazov who wrote there a ballad ( Klepaloto bie, in Bulgarian)
The monastery offers accommodation.
Directions: By car: from Sofia take the way to Svoge and then to Mezdra. Just after enetering the village of Eliseyna, cross the rail road and continue along the river of Gabrovnitsa.
The distance from Sofia - about 86km.
More Things to Do in Lakatnik (1)