"Federal Territory Flag of Kuala Lumpur" Kuala Lumpur Favorite Tip by xuessium

Kuala Lumpur General: 269 reviews and 312 photos

by xuessium

Favorite thing: The Kuala Lumpur Federal Territory (Wilayah Persekutuan) flag consists of white and red stripes of equal width, and dark blue bigger stripe at the centre with yellow star and crescent, based on the national flag. These characteristics cannot be separated because Kuala Lumpur is Malaysia's Federal Capital.

The 14 red and white stripes (across) represent the 13 States in Malaysia and Kuala Lumpur Federal Territory which are under the Federal Government administration. The crescent and star stand for Islam as the official religion. The 14-pointed star represents the 13 States in Malaysia and Kuala Lumpur Federal Territory which acts as the Central Government and Administration.

The dark blue at the centre stands for unity of the multi-racial city folks of Kuala Lumpur Federal Territory.

Red denotes courage and strength of the city in facing the challenges in the quest for development of a dynamic and progressive cosmopolitan city.

Yellow signifies sovereignty and prosperity of Kuala Lumpur.

White symbolises grandeur, cleanliness and beauty of the city in a glittering garden.

The Federal Territory of Kuala Lumpur is an enclave within the State of Selangor. In its own right, it has the same status as that of Selangor. The only difference is that it does not have a head of state or a state assembly.

Review Helpfulness: 2.5 out of 5 stars

Was this review helpful?

  • Updated Oct 8, 2005
  • Send to a Friend
  • Add to your Trip Planner
  • Report Abuse


Top 1,000 Travel Writer
Member Rank:
0 0 1 3 3

Have you been to Kuala Lumpur?

  Share Your Travels