"Rijeka" Top 5 Page for this destination Rijeka by Fiuman

Rijeka Travel Guide: 276 reviews and 556 photos

Rijeka, Fiume

Rijeka is the principal seaport of Croatia, located on Kvarner Bay, an inlet of the Adriatic Sea. It has 144,043 inhabitants (2001, 240.000 greater area) and is Croatia's third largest city.
Primorska-Goranska županija Rijeka is capital of the “Littoral and Highlands County”, which encompasses the Opatija Riviera to the west, the coast to the east including Novi Vinodolski, a mountainous hinterland and the islands as far south as Ilovik. This all covers an area of 3,582km2 on land; 4,398.64km2 of sea, the coastline is 1,065km long and the highest point is the Kula peak of Bjelolasica, the mountain where the Croatian ski team train, which stands at a proud 1,534m.

Climate Sub-Mediterranean on the coast; temperate continental to mountainous.
Local time Croatia is part of the Central European Time Zone (GMT+1): when it is noon in Rijeka it is 12:00 in Berlin, 11:00 in London, 06:00 in New York, 14:00 in Moscow, and 21:00 in Sydney
The electricity supply is 220W, 50Hz, so visitors from the United States will need to use a transformer to run electrical appliances.
You will surely find Rijeka to be remarkably safe in comparison with most Western European cities, even at night. Although there is little street crime, of course it is always wise to keep a sensible eye on your personal belongings

Rijeka, exposed to the wide world for so many years now, is cosmopolitan in outlook and young in spirit - you can feel it as you walk along the elegant Korzo, get to know the history of the city, the forward-looking people and their culture. And it’s capital of Kvarner, which truly has so much to discover. Travel west, and see how the lush Opatija Riviera, dotted with fairytale villas reminds you of the Italian lakelands. Penetrate into the hinterland or head south along the coast road and see a chain of forts, the legacy of the local nobles. Discover the charms of the islands – each one so different, but all surrounded by sparkling sea ...

  • Intro Updated Oct 8, 2006
  • Add to Trip Planner (?)
  • Report Abuse

Reviews (39)

Comments (1)

Fiuman Lives Here!

Fiuman

“relax & enjoy your life”

Online Now

Male

Top 5,000 Travel Writer
Member Rank:
0 4 4 4 0

Badges & Stats in Rijeka

  • 39 Reviews
  • 42 Photos
  • 0 Forum posts
  • 1 Comments
  • 3,742PageViews

Have you been to Rijeka?

  Share Your Travels  

Latest Activity in Rijeka

Friends

No friends yet.

Travel Interests

See All Travel Interests (5)