"Negeri Sembilan - "Nine States"" Top 5 Page for this destination Negeri Sembilan by SLLiew

Negeri Sembilan Travel Guide: 501 reviews and 1,074 photos

Negeri Sembilan means "Nine States" in Malay. The suffix to the state name is "Darul Khusus" which is "Special Abode" in Arabic.

Nine smaller states came together to from Negeri Sembilan. The current boundary of Negeri Sembilan only covers six of the original states - the other three are annexed by neighboring States - Nanning (Melaka), Segamat (Johor) and Kelang (Selangor)

There has a strong Minangkabau (Sumatran) influence. The capital is Seremban and Port Dickson is a popular seaside town.

The portrait on all Malaysian Ringgit bill is of the first King of Malaysia (Yang Di Pertuan Agong) who was the King of Negeri Sembilan (Yang Di Pertuan Besar of Negeri Sembilan).

Most tourists will pass Negeri Sembilan on their drive from Kuala Lumpur to Melaka or Johor and Singapore. But it is worth a stop if it is your first time to this Malaysian state.

In secondary school geography, Negri Sembilan is well known with Kuala Pilah one of the driest spot in Malaysia and Gemas, the railway junction point the railway track from Perlis and from Kelantan meeting at Gemas (at Negeri Sembilan and Johor border) to join up to Singapore in the south.

  • Intro Updated Oct 18, 2008
  • Add to Trip Planner (?)
  • Report Abuse

Reviews (6)

Comments (5)


“Enjoy the moment. Send me a postcard from every country.”

Online Now


Top 1,000 Travel Writer
Member Rank:
0 0 0 3 9
Forum Rank:
0 0 2 2 6

Badges & Stats in Negeri Sembilan

  • 24 Reviews
  • 32 Photos
  • 1 Forum posts
  • 1,343PageViews
  • 1 Cities

Have you been to Negeri Sembilan?

  Share Your Travels  

Latest Activity in Negeri Sembilan