"The First National Seashore" Cape Hatteras National Seashore by grandmaR

The first national seashore in the country, Cape Hatteras National Seashore, extends from south Nags Head to Ocracoke Inlet and includes Hatteras Island (Dare County) and Ocracoke Island (Hyde County) in its 75 mile, 30,000 acre entirety.

Outside of the park boundries, but surrounded by or on the edges of the National Seashore are Hatteras State Park, the Oregon Inlet fishing center, the Pea Island National Wildlife Refuge, and the towns of Rodanthe, Waves, Salvo, Avon, Buxton, Frisco, Hatteras and Ocracoke.

There are actually 3 visitor's centers for the Hatteras National Seashore - Bodie Island, Hatteras Island, and Ocracoke. These are at the three lighthouses that are in the National Seashore area.

The administrative part of the park is in Manteo, which is on Roanoke Island outside of the park.

The marker on the left says

Cape Hatteras Light Station
has been nominated a
Historic Landmark

  • Last visit to Cape Hatteras National Seashore: Dec 2004
  • Intro Updated Jun 2, 2005
  • Add to Trip Planner (?)
  • Report Abuse

Reviews (1)



“"..an adventure is an inconvenience rightly considered." G.K. Chesterton”

Online Now


Top 1,000 Travel Writer
Member Rank:
0 0 0 2 5
Forum Rank:
0 0 0 6 8

Badges & Stats in Cape Hatteras National Seashore

  • 1 Reviews
  • 7 Photos
  • 0 Forum posts
  • 719PageViews

Have you been to Cape Hatteras National Seashore?

  Share Your Travels  

Latest Activity in Cape Hatteras National Seashore

Travel Interests

See All Travel Interests (5)