"Bayahibe, La Romana -Republica Dominicana" La Romana by rosariobello

La Romana Travel Guide: 58 reviews and 101 photos

Playa de Bayahibe

La Romana is a province of the Dominican Republic. The capital is also named La Romana, and is the third-largest town in the country. The province was split from La Altagracia in 1968, and includes both Isla Saona and Isla Catalina.

La Romana is also home to Casa de Campo, one of the world's largest resorts and top golfing destinations. The "Teeth of the Dog" golf course is world-renowned, and many international and local artists perform at "Altos de Chavon", an artistic community and university.
The province as of June 20 2006 is divided into the following municipalities (municipios) and municipal districts (distrito municipal - D.M.) within them:[1]

La Romana
La Caleta (D.M.)
Villa Hermosa
Cumayasa (D.M.)
The following is a sortable table of the municipalities with population figures as of the 2002 census. Urban population are those living in the seats (cabeceras literally heads) of municipalities or of municipal districts. Rural population are those living in the districts (Secciones literally sections) and neighborhoods (Parajes literally places) outside of them.[2]

  • Last visit to La Romana: Jul 2005
  • Intro Updated May 9, 2016
  • Add to Trip Planner (?)
  • Report Abuse

Reviews (1)

Comments (2)

rosariobello Visits Here Frequently!

Ranked Member
Member Rank:
2 0 7 7 0

Badges & Stats in La Romana

  • 1 Reviews
  • 7 Photos
  • 0 Forum posts
  • 2,069PageViews

Have you been to La Romana?

  Share Your Travels  

Latest Activity in La Romana