"Pretoria - Administrative Capital of South Africa" Pretoria by Moirads

Pretoria Travel Guide: 405 reviews and 739 photos

PWV - A Triangle

Gauteng, South Africa, is the smallest of the nine provinces, and Johannesburg, not Pretoria, is the capital of Gauteng. Pretoria is one of three capital cities of Johannesburg (yes, it is complicated, but it was an attempt to appease the Boers at the time of the formation of the Union in 1910).

Pretoria is the administrative capital of the country, and it has some wonderful anomalies, such as the headquarters of the South African fleet being situated in this inland capital, 600 kms from the nearest sea and 1400 from the naval base in Simonstown.

Pretoria is also home to the beautiful Union Buildings, the Pretoria home of Parliament.

Bloemfontein is the judicial capital and the home of the Appeal Court. (Johannesburg is the home of the Constitutional Court, just to confuse things even more).

Cape Town is the legislative capital where Parliament convenes.

  • Last visit to Pretoria: Nov 2011
  • Intro Updated Dec 9, 2011
  • Add to Trip Planner (?)
  • Report Abuse

Reviews (5)

Comments (1)

  • balhannah's Profile Photo
    Mar 13, 2010 at 12:35 PM

    I have in my mind that Pretoria would have some nice buildings, this sounds like one.

Moirads Visits Here Frequently!

Top 5,000 Travel Writer
Member Rank:
0 2 1 4 1
Forum Rank:
0 1 4 0 8

Badges & Stats in Pretoria

  • 5 Reviews
  • 19 Photos
  • 1 Forum posts
  • 826PageViews

Have you been to Pretoria?

  Share Your Travels  

Photos in Pretoria

See All Photos (19)

Travel Interests

See All Travel Interests (5)